| UGA Today

UGA faculty receive First-Year Odyssey Teaching Awards

Four University of Georgia faculty were honored with First-Year Odyssey Teaching Awards at a reception celebrating the success of the First-Year Odyssey Seminar program.

Award recipients and their seminar titles included:
• Wayde Brown, associate professor and assistant dean of research, College of Environment and Design, "Stories Behind the Bricks;"
• James "Jeb" Byers, associate professor, Odum School of Ecology, "The Ecology of Invasive Species;"
• William Kisaalita, professor and graduate coordinator, College of Engineering, "Things You Can (or Should Not) Do to End World Poverty;"
• Ronald Pegg, associate professor, food science and technology, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, "Coffee Technology."

The awards recognized outstanding instructors who have demonstrated innovation in instruction, connection of seminar content to the instructor's research, and how FYOS program goals are incorporated into the seminar.